Background and Purpose

The RIPEA/William R. Murphy Foundation, Inc. was incorporated by the RIPEA Board of Directors on June 12, 1995 and approved by the I.R.S. as a 501 (c) (3) tax exempt organization and incorporated on April 30, 1997. The purpose of the Foundation is “to assist, and promulgate and establish varied programs for the elderly and in the administration of such senior programs as well as the solicitation of funds for the support of said senior programs in need of support.”

Since 1995 the Foundation has benefited from the gifts and contributions from RIPEA members and other interested persons and businesses. The oversight of the Foundation is undertaken by a three- to five-member Board of Trustees nominated by the RIPEA Board of Directors - not all of whom are required to be members of the Board. The Foundation is managed by RIPEA's administrative offices in Indianapolis. The Foundation is subject to the same laws and procedures that apply to all other benevolent and charitable foundations that can receive tax deductible gifts benefiting both the Foundation and the individual.

The RIPEA/William R. Murphy Foundation, Inc. provides a mechanism for many active or retired public employees to improve the health and welfare of persons who have contributed their talents and long-term service in Indiana's public sector.

The Foundation Board of Directors has initiated 2 programs that have highlighted the work of the Foundation:

  • Made a grant of $10,000 to Indiana Vocational Technical College for the purpose of paying fees and books for RIPEA members who enroll in a senior citizen class at Ivy Tech.

  • Make grants to RIPEA members who need financial assistance as a result of medical expenses or other personal expenses. From 2001 to 2023, the Foundation has received close to 4,200 applications and awarded more than 1,800 grants, totaling over $964,000.

Most of the denials were due to lack of funds. Your contributions are greatly appreciated.

The application is available on the Grant Objectives page May-June each year. 

Board of Directors:

         Marty Montgomery, Chairman
         Howard Buchanon, Trustee
         Cleo Duncan, Trustee
         Craig Hartzer, Trustee